The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Thanksgiving break pleasure book)

A lot of my friends have read this book and they strongly recommended it to me, and although I’ve never had the time to read it, Thanksgiving break gave me that opportunity. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a moderately short novel (about 200 pages) about a boy entering his freshman year of high school and how he copes with new surroundings, and a new social environment. I really enjoyed reading this novel because I found everyone can relate to it in some form, and any book that one can relate to is a good read. In addition throughout the book I felt terrible for the main character, Charlie. Charlie was in love with a girl he seemingly could never have, his friend’s were dragging him into drugs, his sister was getting abused by her boyfriend, and despite all of that he was still just a wallflower; he was not a core part of his friend group nor was he friendless, all he had was somewhat of a pen pal to write letters to about his high school life (these letters are what the book is comprised of). This book is not necessarily a happy one, however I felt a sense of accomplishment when I finished it, and I strongly recommend it to everyone.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Honors English III, Pleasure Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

