“I’m on a Roller Coaster that Only Goes Up, My Friend.”

A year ago, my friend advised me to read, “Looking for Alaska,” by John Green, and from then on I was hooked on his books. Over the break, I decided to read the book entitled “The Fault in Our Stars,” by John Green.  Its title was inspired by Shakespeare’s famous line in the play “Julius Caesar,” which states, “The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars, but in our selves, that we are underlings. ”The story rotates on a sixteen-year-old thyroid cancer patient named Hazel.  Her parents force her to attend a support group, where she then meets and falls in love with Augustus Walters a seventeen-year-old ex-basketball player amputee. When you read a book about cancer patients, it’s no surprise that one of the characters isn’t going to last until the end of the novel but this isn’t just a story about death-its about two people striving to live life as normally as possible. The Fault in Our Stars is one of the most emotional books I have ever read. John Green managed to make me laugh, cry and go through all of life’s emotions all in one book. Overall, it made me realize that little moments make an impact on the characters, which in a way brought them together. I then related to this book and I learned that, life isn’t made up of big moments, it is made up of the small moments that bind us together.

This entry was posted in 21st Century Learning, Book Reviews, English III, Pleasure Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

