The End of a Show; The End of an Era

EPILOGUE
SPOKEN BY PROSPERO
Now my charms are all o’erthrown,
And what strength I have’s mine own,
Which is most faint: now, ’tis true,
I must be here confined by you,
Or sent to Naples. Let me not,
Since I have my dukedom got
And pardon’d the deceiver, dwell
In this bare island by your spell;
But release me from my bands
With the help of your good hands:
Gentle breath of yours my sails
Must fill, or else my project fails,
Which was to please. Now I want
Spirits to enforce, art to enchant,
And my ending is despair,
Unless I be relieved by prayer,
Which pierces so that it assaults
Mercy itself and frees all faults.
As you from crimes would pardon’d be,
Let your indulgence set me free.

allegory

In The Tempest by William Shakespeare, the epilogue of the play serves not only as a conclusion to the story and Prospero’s life journey, but it also speaks about Shakespeare’s final play and his time in the theater. Shakespeare uses this monologue as an allegory for his sweet, sorrowful goodbye and he uses Prospero as a mouth piece to convey his inner thoughts to his viewerss. Prospero says, “but release me from my bands with the help of your good hands.” This is Shakespeare asking the audience to applaud his work one last time, and let their enjoyment finally set him free from the bonds of their opinions.  Shakespeare had an epic career as a playwright and poet. This epilogue serves as his first formal exit and curtain call from the theater, even though his works live on vicariously through the eyes and hearts of English teachers, their students, and lovers of the dramatic arts. 

This entry was posted in Digital Shakespeare, Honors English III, Shakespeare. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The End of a Show; The End of an Era

  1. beans11 says:

    The fourth sentence in this post is the most vibrant as it displays Shakespeare’s greatness while also showing the suffocation by the public he felt for his writing.

  2. sagemaggi says:

    The final sentence is the most important to the post because it wraps up all of the ideas in the epilogue by showing the connection between Shakespeare retiring from playwriting and the conclusion of Prospero.

  3. javid says:

    thanks,most useful.

Leave a Reply

