Film vs. Film — Benedick vs. Beatrice

The scenes in which Beatrice calls Benedick the “Jester” of Don Pedro are both very similar. With somehow managing to incorporate the out dated masked parties of the 1800’s, Joss Whedon is able to easily and naturally portray masked parties in modern day. While in the modern film Beatrice expresses her dislike of beards, Benedick covers his facial hair. Benedick during this conversation is fishing for compliments in which were shot down and ripped apart. In both films it is entertaining to see him try so hard for her approval and even tried to use mistaken identity to his advantage.

“BENEDICK
She told me, not thinking I had been myself, that I was the Prince’s jester, that I was duller than a great thaw; huddling jest upon jest with such impossible conveyance upon me that I stood like a man at a mark, with a whole army shooting at me. She speaks poniards, and every word stabs. If her breath were as terrible as her terminations, there were no living near her; she would infect to the North Star.” (2.1.242)

This entry was posted in Much Ado About Nothing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

