Prophet Song Podcast

This podcast gives an in depth look at Paul Lynch’s, Booker Prize winning novel, Prophet Song. This podcast looks at the unique rhetorical writing style that Lynch uses in this novel to convey his story. This podcast also looks at how the lessons from this novel can be applied to modern day situations all around the world.

This entry was posted in 2023 Booker Prize Shortlisted Novels. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prophet Song Podcast

  1. dommyb123 says:

    Great job Prophet Song Pals! I read Prophet Song for our second run of Literature Circles, so I was eager to listen to this podcast! Paul Lynch’s style of writing with no quotation marks and no indentations definitely takes some getting used to(the no quotations mostly). I listened to the audiobook while reading to make it a little easier to understand who’s talking. Love the word “totallitaristic”

    I like how you guys talk about the theme of family and how it falls apart after Larry is apprehended. I definitely saw this A LOT. I think as the novel goes on, we see the impact of Larry’s absence getting larger and larger, especially after Mark goes AWOL.

    I like how you all touch on how this novel is not really dystopian. When I was reading this book, I also thought about how it sounds a lot like what’s going on in other parts of the world right now. It also reminded me of the Red Scare of the 1940s-50s and McCarthysim — the government would take in people they thought were Communists, they would ruin the reputations of anyone they thought were against the government, etc.

  2. Kiefer Priest says:

    Hi Griffin and Sam, great job looking and analyzing Prophet Song! My favorite part of your podcast is when you questioned, “is this even dystopian?” I think it is such an important message of the book to understand that what Eillish and her family are going through is not to far out of reality. In fact, this is a global reality that people have to fight against totalitarian governments and young adults put themselves in harms way by standing up for what they believe in.

Leave a comment